Week 3

Standard
Last weekend I traveled to Salt Lake City, Utah. On my trip home I grabbed a Rachel Ray magazine to read while I waited to board the plane. This weeks recipes were inspired by a few found in that magazine. Since I took artistic liberty, I’ll try to write out the recipes in as much detail as possible. Hope you like what you see!
First up
Meatball Minestrone Soup:
ingredients
1/2 onion (I used a yellow onion)
2 cloves garlic
A dash of thyme
2 zucchini (one green / one yellow)
1 cup tomatoes
2 cup chicken or vegetable broth
2 cans of cannellini beans
1 1/2 cup spinach
Meatballs! (I wanted to make this meal fast, so I bought them pre-cooked at the store)
salt and peper to tast and top with parmesan cheese
directions
– Saute onions and garlic(cook about 2-4 min) then add yellow and green zucchini (cook about 2 min)
– Add the remaining ingredients and bring mixture to a simmer
Sprinklewith cheese and serve!
On the side
Quinoa Salad
ingredients
1 cup quinoa
1 cup olives
2-3 table spoons olive oil
1 lbs brussel sprouts
1 cup water-chestnuts
A dash of lemon
Salt and pepper to taste
 
Directions

– Cook quinoa as packaging directs

– In a skillet saute water-chestnuts in olive oil
– Add olives (2-4 min) then brussels sprouts (2-4 min)
– Splash lemon juice and salt & pepper (5 min)
– Mix saute mix with quinoa and serve!
I also served rolls too, but the were also store bought and pre-made
I know… I cheated this week, but I was creative. I think I should get some points for that. Anyways to make up for it, I did try a second attempt of a recipe I had failed at before. So check back to see how it turned out!
One thought on “Week 3

Leave a Reply

