Week 16

Standard
I knew my vacation would throw off my 2010 cooking challenge, so before I felt, I made an extra meal. Here’s what it was, Turkey Meatballs Covered in Tomato Sauce, Hasselback Potatoes, and Roasted Asparagus. When you’re looking for a good, health, comfort food meal, this combination really hit the spot.
My biggest challenge with this meal was the turkey meatballs. With several attempts, I had a hard time keeping them packed and round while cooking. My best advice is to continuously turn them, however, the recipe recommends otherwise. Paring with the meatballs, I found a simple tomato sauce recipe attached. I’m so glad I tried it, instead of using my store bought stuff in a jar. The sauce turned out fabulously and had a wonderful spice.
Next came the hasselback potatoes. If you know me, then you know I LOVE potatoes, and I couldn’t resist trying this recipe. Of course, they were delicious. Needless to say, I’ve made them almost three times since making this meal. The only difficultly I had, was to cutting them at just the right angle.
Lastly, I made roasted asparagus. I simply washed, cut, drizzled them in olive oil, salt, and pepper, and baked until browned. For an extra kick, I drizzled a little white truffle oil on them after cooking. If you don’t have white truffle oil, you HAVE to get it. It makes everything taste gourmet (in my opinion). I often sprinkle it on roasted veggies and pasta meals. I know you can find it at Costco, Target, and Whole Foods, so try it out and let me know what you think. Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

