Caye Caulka, Belize Day 2 – Snorkeling

Standard

Today we woke up early and found another place to crash for the next two nights called Morgan’s. We we’re told we would have interntet but, again our room is just out of range. Our new cabana is full of charm with exposed wires in the shower, a rickety stair case, and a hammock with a hole. Frankly, I’ll be surprised if we don’t fall through the floor when taking a shower! Seriously, I can feel the entire place shake when one of us walks across the room. Although the price was right and has saved us some money, I think I’ll look at our accommodations a little closer. Dan on the other hand, thinks of it as an adventure. To him the more obscure the better. Hmmm… we’ll see.

After getting settled, we were off to our snorkeling adventure. All together there were nine of us on the boat the guide, seven snorkelers, and a local six year old boy who decided to join us. I have to say I was pretty impressed with my first snorkeling trip. We saw turtles, 5 foot manta rays, tons of fish in the coral reef, and we got to feed and swim with nurf sharks. It satisfied my ocean adventure since I couldn’t dive.

Following a good nap, we went to confirm Dan’s Blue Hole dive for the morning. We were quite disappointed to find out that not enough people signed up so they had to canceled the trip. To boot, the other dive centers already had full boats… huge bummer! Oh well, guess we’ll just have to come back again.

To finish the night Dan and I went out for happy hour and then met up with a couple from the snorkeling trip for dinner. We ate and chatted the night away at a place called Roses. It was definitely good times and awesome to meet some cool people.

Later!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

4 thoughts on “Caye Caulka, Belize Day 2 – Snorkeling

  1. Kim

    Snorkeling is awesome when you are at-one-with-the-undersea- universe….so beautiful and relaxing-you could almost forget to breathe! I am thrilled you got to do that even if it didn’t work out on the diving part…

    • Thanks, I’m glad you’re enjoying my posts!

      About half our pics are taken with our Cannon Rebel and the other with an iphone. We use the Camera Plus App for the iphone to make the colors pop, and sometimes I just tinker with them on iphoto.

      Best,

      Alissa

Leave a Reply

