Paris, France

Standard

I’ve been dreaming of going to Paris ever since I was in third grade. My brother was in a French back-to-back program which allowed him to go there and a boy to come live with us. I remember waiting for him at the airport with Springsteen’s “Born in the USA” blaring over the speakers, and staring at his pictures. Especially his pictures of the Eiffel Tower. It all seemed so beautiful and cool. My fascination with France grew as I got older, more in to ballet, learned that I really enjoyed French food, and the movie “Sex and the City” helped too! I knew I would get there eventually, it was just a matter of time. I’m happy to say at 31… I’ve finally made it!!!

So now you’re wondering was it worth the wait!? Heck yeah, I LOVE Paris! It was everything I dreamed it would be. It seemed like every inch from the lawns to the subway stations were designed to be beautiful. I just couldn’t get over how gorgeous everything was. It was truly eye candy. There where some places that were a little rough around the edges, but I didn’t mind because charm was nearby.

While in Paris Dan and I explored many sight via a walking tour. We also went to the Louvre. I was super excited to see the Mona Lisa to find out if her eye really would follow me. Sadly it was so crowded it was impossible to tell. I spent a good two in a half hours wondering around the Louvre and still didn’t see it all. The museum was closing and my brain and legs were too exhausted. I’ll just have to go back again some day.

After the museum we continued to the Eiffel Tower. It was so much bigger than I had ever imagined and WOW! I know this is going to sound super girly, but it actually brought tears to my eyes. The best part was at the top of the hour. A confetti of lights would flash over the entire sculpture and an “ahh” sound hummed across the yard as everyone simultaneously experienced the sight. It gave me goosebumps!

The following day we ventured to the Palace of Versailles. Seriously, the place is so over the top ornate and large that it puts every other palace to shame. In fact, I really don’t feel the need to see another in Europe because it was so mind blowing.

Our other adventures around Paris were a little less touristy. Dan and myself really enjoy hanging out where the locals go. We try to eat at the places off the beaten path, discover side streets, and window shop. It is possible to get away from the tourists filled city. You just have to be willing to get lost a little to discover the nooks and crannies.

 

Enjoy the pics!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

