Athens, Greece

Standard

I’m going to save you all the transportation details and let you know we finally made it to Greece. First off I’ve got to say I expected so much more from Athens. When we arrived I remember saying, “Really?! This is it!” To put it frankly, Athens is a dump. The city is covered in trash, graffiti, and it seems everything is broken. The signs at the train station didn’t work and I wouldn’t dare trying to use the subway… it looked like something out of a horror film. Okay, perhaps that’s a little too dramatic. But, seriously it’s the first place I’ve been where I didn’t feel safe walking at night; even Dan concurs.

Even though it looked broken down, we did give Athens a chance. We took a walking tour around the city. The historical sights and kebab started to make up for my ill impression. Some of people on the other hand didn’t. For the first time in all my travels I was told I was not allowed to dance. I would have been okay with them telling me I couldn’t, however, I was approached in such a negative way that it totally put me in a bad mood. To top the day off, I fell down two different flights of marble staircases. After yelling a few choice words, spraining my wrist, having a sore back, and beautiful back bruise, I was ready to get the heck out of Athens. I had enough.

That night we made plans to leave Athens and head to Santorini. Sadly, our plans to see some of the better area of Greece we’re foiled by Labor Day. Yes, we had the VERY bad planning and accidentally traveled to Greece just in time for strikes and riots. What were we to do? Take a bus immediately to Istanbul. Well… we tried to leave with the as advertised 9:30am bus. As luck would have it we would be stuck in Athens for eight more hours.

To pass the time we walked back up to the tourist area to get some brunch and use some wifi. On the way there we witnessed both sides of the soon to be riot prepare. It was kinda of eerie walking up the main drag with everything closed. As we peeked down the side streets we could see lines of police vans and police head to toe in riot gear. They dawned black helmets, back padded suites, shields, batons, and a waist full of gadgets. It made me feel nervous for what might come. When we reached our brunch destination we could see the protest march begin. I don’t know if anything serious happened, but I was glad we were out of the way. After several hours of waiting we boarded the bus safely. I was more than thrilled to get the heck out of Greece.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

More kebab!? Next stop Turkey!

Leave a Reply

